Hiding and deleting
If you wish to temporarily remove content from the published site, you should use the 'expire' function within T4.
For the piece of content concerned, go to 'modify content' and select the 'options' tab, select a time within the 'Expiry date' field (must be in the future!), and then 'Update and approve'.
Once this time has passed the content will appear on your list as 'Approved / Expired' and at next publish of the section, will disappear from your page. You can reinstate the content at any point. Go to modify content, you will be prompted that the expiry date of the content has passed and be asked to review and update as appropriate within the 'Options' tab. The expiry date has been cleared and you'll need to 'Update and approve' your content to reinstate on your page at next publish.
Permanently deleting content
To permanently delete content, choose the 'delete' option from the drop down next to the piece of content.
The content will be marked as 'inactive'. It will remain in your content list until the weekly purge of deleted content. Deleted content is purged first thing on Monday mornings. Any content marked as 'inactive' is then permanently deleted. If you accidentally click on 'delete', as long as this is before the end of the week, you can go in and use the 'modify content' option and reinstate the content by approving it again.
If you wish to temporarily remove sections from the published site, there are two options for you.
- Remove from navigation by modifying your section to remove 'show in navigation' - this will only remove direct access to your page from the site navigation, it will not remove the section from the published site or from being accessed via direct search.
- The only way to remove a section from the published site is to delete it.
Permanently deleting sections
If you wish to permanently delete a section, choose the 'delete section' option from the drop down. This will mark the content as 'inactive' and it will appear highlighted red in your site structure. It will remain in your site structure until the Monday purge of deleted content. If you accidentally click on 'delete section', you can go in and use the 'Modify Section' option and reinstate the section by approving it again.