Directors of the Hamlyn Centre

Professor Yang Director of the Hamlyn Centre

Director of the Hamlyn Centre

Professor Guang-Zhong Yang, PhD, FREng, FIEEE, FIET, FAIMBE, FIAMBE, FMICCAI, FCGI

Professor Guang-Zhong Yang is Director and co-founder of the Hamlyn Centre, and Deputy Chairman of the Institute of Global Health Innovation (IGHI), Imperial College London.

Professor Yang also holds a number of key academic positions at Imperial College: Director and Founder of the Royal Society/Wolfson Medical Image Computing Laboratory; co-founder of the Wolfson Surgical Technology Laboratory; and Chairman of the Centre for Pervasive Sensing. He is a recipient of the Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award and the I.I. Rabi Award from the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine.  His main research interests are in medical imaging, sensing and robotics. He is internationally recognised for his innovations and clinical applications of MR imaging and flow quantification and pioneering effort in perceptual docking for robotic control and Body Sensor Network (BSN). He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and fellow of IEEE, IET, AIMBE, IAMBE, MICCAI, and City&Guilds. A recipient of the Royal Society Research Merit Award, Professor Yang is listed in The Times Eureka ‘Top 100’ in British Science.

Co-director of the Hamlyn Centre

Co-director of the Hamlyn Centre

Professor the Lord Darzi of Denham, FRS, FMedSci, HonFREng

Professor the Lord Darzi holds the Paul Hamlyn Chair of Surgery at Imperial College London where he is Head of the Division of Surgery. He is an Honorary Consultant Surgeon at Imperial College Hospital NHS Trust and the Royal Marsden Hospital and also holds the Chair of Surgery at the Institute of Cancer Research. He was recently appointed as Chairman of the Institute of Global Health Innovation at Imperial College.

He was knighted for his services in medicine and surgery in 2002. In 2007 Professor Darzi was introduced to the United Kingdom’s House of Lords as Professor the Lord Darzi of Denham and appointed as Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Department of Health.  He relinquished in July 2009 when he was appointed the United Kingdom’s Global Ambassador for Health and Life Sciences, and Chair of NHS Global.  Lord Darzi was appointed as a member of Her Majesty’s Most Honourable Privy Council in June 2009.

Staff and academics in the Hamlyn Centre

Academic Faculty Staff

NameE-mail
Dr Daniel Elson (Reader) daniel.elson@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Leff (Senior Lecturer) d.leff@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Su-Lin Lee (Lecturer) su-lin.lee@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Benny Lo (Lecturer) benny.lo@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Mikael Sodergren (Lecturer) m.sodergren@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents

Research Fellows

NameE-mail
Dr Stamatia Giannarou (Royal Society University Research Fellowship) stamatia.giannarou@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Robert Merrifield (Hamlyn Fellow) rdm99@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents

Honorary and Visiting Academics

NameE-mail
Dr Christos Bergeles c.bergeles@imperial.ac.uk
Dr James Clark (Honorary Lecturer) j.clark@imperial.ac.uk
Professor Christian Cook c.cook@bangor.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Dowsey Andrew.Dowsey@liverpool.ac.uk
Professor Leonard Fass (Industrial Liaison) l.fass@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents

Administration

NameE-mail
Mr Graham Brooks (Senior Engineer) g.brooks@imperial.ac.uk
Miss Marina Hall (Research Secretary) marina.hall@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Karen Kerr (Director of Operations for the Paul Hamlyn Chair of Surgery)  k.kerr@imperial.ac.uk
Miss Raphaële Raupp (PA to Director) r.raupp@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents

Research Associates

NameE-mail
Salzitsa Yordanova Anastasova-Ivanova s.anastasova-ivanova@imperial.ac.uk
Javier Andreu-Perez javier.andreu@imperial.ac.uk
Thanapong Chaichana t.chaichana@imperial.ac.uk
Neil Clancy n.clancy@imperial.ac.uk
Bruno Gil Rosa b.gil-rosa@imperial.ac.uk
Bidan Huang b.huang@imperial.ac.uk
Panagiotis Kassanos p.kassanos@imperial.ac.uk
Jang Ah Kim j.a.kim@imperial.ac.uk
Jindong Liu  j.liu@imperial.ac.uk
Elham Nabavi e.nabavi@imperial.ac.uk
Ji Qi j.qi10@imperial.ac.uk
Daniele Ravi d.ravi@imperial.ac.uk
Pakatip Ruenraroengsak p.ruenraroengsak@imperial.ac.uk
Florent Seichepine f.seichepine@imperial.ac.uk
Jianzhong Shang j.shang@imperial.ac.uk
Burak Temelkuran b.temelkuran@imperial.ac.uk
Alex Thompson alex.thompson08@imperial.ac.uk
Charence Wong charence@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents

MRes Students

Ibrahim Al Fathi
Catherine Po Ling Chan
Daniel Freer
Timur Navruzov
Ivan Ernesto Pulgar Alarcon
Caumaghen Sannassy
Suzanne Shanel
Nathalie Slim
Michele Tonutti
Arvind Kumar Vadivelu
Rejin John Varghese
Qiao Wang
Lahiru Nuwan Senarathna Wijayasingha
Yiyuan Zhang
Ming Zhao

Alumni

Dr Nick Ablitt
Ms Aziah Ali
Mr Faisal Aljaber
Dr Selen Atasoy
Dr Louis Atallah
Dr Ebubekir Avci
Dr Omer Aziz
Dr James Ballantyne
Dr Shudi Bao
Dr Clement Barriere
Mr Yakov Boglev
Dr Loubna Bouarfa
Pilar Beatriz Garcia Allende
Mr Fan Cao
Mr Marco Caproni
Dr Francois Chabat
Dr Ching-Mei Chen
Dr Shanshan Chen
Mr Yang Chen
Mr Zhaohui Keene Chen
Dr Yi Cheng
Mr Wenqiang Bobby Chi
Dr Adrian Chung
Dr Longfei Cong
Dr Javier Correa Villanueva
Dr Vincenzo Curto
Dr Blair Crewther
Dr Thomas Cundy
Dr Fani Deligianni
Dr Laura Dempere-Marco
Dr Aimee Di Marco
Dr Alessio Dore
Dr Andrew Dowsey
Mr George Dwyer
Dr Mohamed Elhelw
Dr Joshua Ellul
Mr Marcus Ellington
Dr Ahmed Elsaify
Dr Maria Elena Gallina
Mr Pedro Ferreira Marques
Mr Nikos Flitris
Dr Kenko Fujii
Dr Andrea Gaglione
Dr Jianxing Gao
Mr Luis Garcia-Peraza
Dr Petros Giataganas
Miss Ruzanna Gulakyan
David Harris-Birtill
Dr Paramate Horkaew
Dr Xiaopeng Hu
Mr Denis Huen
Dr Michael Hughes
Mr Yao-Ling Hung
Dr Andrew Huntbatch
Dr Henry Ip
Mr Adam James
Dr David James
Dr Delaram Jarchi
Dr Edward Johns
Dr Vahe Karimyan
Ms Mehrin Kiani
Dr Rachel King
Ms Georgina Kirby
Dr Kevin Koh
Dr Richard Kwasnicki
Dr Kawai Kwok
Dr Win Tun Latt
Dr Karim Lekadir
Dr Julian Leong
Dr Mirna Lerotic
Dr Julian Leong
Dr Caroline Li
Dr Rui Li
Dr Sinan Li
Mr Fangyu Lin
Mr Arthur Loisillier
Mr Angelos Karlas
Mr Per Karlsson
Dr Kiyoung Kim
Dr Hawkeye King
Dr Hani Marcus
Dr Sharmeen Masood
Dr Stephen Matthews
Mr Philip McCormac
Dr Stephen McKeague
Dr Pete Mountney
Dr Andre Mouton
Dr Douglas McIlwraith
Dr George Mylonas
Dr Julien Nahed
Dr Richard Newton
Dr Marios Nicolaou
Dr David Noonan
Dr Pauline Ng
Mr Kosidinma Onyenso
Dr Felipe Orihuela-Espina
Mr Krittin Pachtrachai
Dr Athanasia Panousopoulou
Dr Julien Pansiot
Dr Tom Parker
Dr James Patterson
Dr Christopher Payne
Ms Anne Pigula
Dr Philip Pratt
Dr Hedyeh Rafii-Tari
Dr Vincent Sauvage
Mr Timothy Seah
Dr Volker Schmidt
Dr Chaoyang Shi
Dr Mohan Singh
Dr Lipei Song
Dr Irina Spulber
Dr Dan Stoyanov
Ms Natasha Studinska
Dr Lei Su
Mr Malindie Hansika Sugathapala
Dr Mike Sun
Dr Clive Taylor
Miss Xingze Tian
Dr Surapa Thiemjarus
Dr Johannes Totz
Dr Mary Tziraki
Ms Nafiseh Vahabi
Dr Salman Valibeik
Dr Alessandro Vandini
Dr Marco Visentini Scarzanella
Dr Valentina Vitiello
Dr Jeffery Wang
Dr Lei Wang
Dr Lichao Wang
Mr Alex Warren
Ms Hannah Wells
Mr Oliver Wells
Dr Toby Wood
Ms Qian Wu
Dr Wei Yao
Ms Ruoxi Yu
Dr Jin-Fei Zhang
Dr Zhiqiang Zhang
Dr Liang Zhao
Dr Siyang Zuo