Core Staff

NameResearch InterestsE-mail
Prof. Mauricio Barahona Dynamics of networks of interconnected nonlinear systems, Theory of synchronization, Algorithms for nonlinear signal analysis, Multiscale dynamics and model reduction of bio-systems, Mathematical and computational biology. m.barahona@imperial.ac.uk
Dr. Dorothy Buck
Site-specific recombination, Mechanisms of type-2 Topoisomerases, Integron Integrases, Mechanisms of Antibiotic Resistance, Knot Theory, 3-manifold Topology
d.buck@imperial.ac.uk
Dr. Caroline Colijn Mathematical and genomic epidemiology, Modelling bacterial metabolism and evolution and spread of antibiotic resistance.

c.colijn@imperial.ac.uk

Dr. Nick Jones  Networks and Fluctuations - Complex Systems and Systems Biology: Network (graph) analysis, the principles of networks and combinatorics; Transport and development in biological networks; Statistical signal processing; Mitochondrial dynamics; Stochasticity and stem cells; Data science. nick.jones@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Eric Keavney Microorganism locomotion and cellular mechanics; Suspensions of interacting and active particles; Mechanics of soft materials and complex fluids; Low Reynolds number hydrodynamics; Numerical methods and computational mathematics e.keaveny@imperial.ac.uk
Dr. Vahid Shahrezaei  Computational Molecular Systems Biology, Design principles that enable cells to function robustly, in spite of significant inherent stochasticity and environmental noise. To this end, a combination of analytical and computational methods is used to investigate the temporal, spatial and stochastic dynamics of biochemical networks.  v.shahrezaei@imperial.ac.uk

Other Members

Research Fellows

NameResearch InterestsEmail
Dr Mariano Beguerisse-Diaz
James S. McDonnell Foundation Fellow

Network science, complexity, mathematical biology, computational social science, and data science.

m.beguerisse@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Ouldridge
Junior Research Fellow


Understanding the limits and costs of cellular sensing and signalling; modelling DNA nanotechnology; development of algorithms and tools for simulation, a key aspect underlying much of my research.

 t.ouldridge@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Diego Oyarzún
Junior Research Fellow


Biomolecular control systems; metabolic dynamics; gene regulatory networks; feedback control theory for Systems and Synthetic Biology; design of synthetic gene circuits.

d.oyarzun@imperial.ac.uk
Research Fellows

Past Members

NamePosition
 Samuel Johnson  Marie Curie Fellow
 Iain G Johnston  MRC Fellow
Past Members