VPAGE Dates 2017/18

All meetings take place from 10:00 to 11.30 in the Faculty Boardroom, 4th Floor Faculty Building unless where stated

Wednesday 13 September, 3pm

Thursday 12 October

Thursday 9 November 

Monday 7 December 

Thursday 11 January

Thursday 8 February

Thursday 8 March

Thursday 12 April

Thursday 10 May

Thursday 14 June

Thursday 12 July

For information on agenda, or papers or to send apologies, please contact the Secretary - Executive PA to the Vice-Provost (Education) Joanna Ivison, 020 7594 8807.

All papers to be submitted by the Wednesday of the week prior to the meeting



Core membership

Professor Simone Buitendijk Vice-Provost (Education) Chair

Professor Alan Spivey Vice-Dean (Education), Faculty of Natural Sciences (to 31 July 2017)

Professor Emma McCoy Vice-Dean (Education), Faculty of Natural Sciences (from 1 August 2017)

Professor Omar Matar Vice-Dean (Education), Faculty of Engineering (from 1 August 2017)

Diane Morgan Associate Dean of Programmes, Business School

Professor Des Johnston Vice-Dean (Education), Faculty of Medicine

Emma Caseley Head of Strategic Projects



Terms of Reference

The role of this group is to:

1. Advise the Vice-Provost (Education) on:
  1. All matters relating to the educational and student experience strands of the College Strategy to ensure they are continually developed and enhanced.
  2. Responses to external consultations on education and the student experience.
  3. Opportunities to communicate and promote the profile of education and the student experience at Imperial College.
  4. Best practice from across the sector that can inform enhancement within College.
2. Receive and consider reports from:

    i.  Faculty of Engineering Education Committee

    ii   Faculty of Natural Sciences Education Committee

    iii   Faculty of Medicine Education Committee

    iv  Imperial College Business School Education Committee

    v   School of Professional Development Education Committee

    vi. Student Support and Wellbeing Committee

Other Educational Governance Committees


Quality Assurance

Quality assurance is an essential part of maintaining good practice across the College, as well as being a basic requirement of HEFCE and Quality Assurance Agency (QAA) guidelines. The College has developed quality assurance and enhancement policies and procedures to support the achievement of its educational strategic intents.

The Vice-Provost (Education) chairs the Quality Assurance and Enhancement Committee (QAEC) and also sits on Senate. More information about the both the strategy and quality education committee structure can be found on the Governance Structure webpages.