Terms of reference

Strategic Responsibilities

  • To provide a forum for deliberation on matters of academic policy and the development of taught education* across the Faculty to enable the achievement of the College Strategy.  
  • To consider and advise on developments in the educational portfolio of the Faculty.
  • To assess the implications of proposed new policies and procedures (both internal and external) and contribute to QAEC discussion or directly to external bodies.
  • To advise, implement and monitor new policies and procedures (both internal and external) which affect the activities and/or administration of teaching.

* Includes undergraduate and Master’s level programmes of study and short course provision.

 Quality and Standards Responsibilities

  • To provide a forum for the discussion of student issues and to monitor the student experience, for example via student survey results and staff-student committees, at all points of delivery.
  • To provide oversight and scrutiny of the processes of quality assurance for the Faculty’s academic provision in accordance with the College’s Academic Standards Framework.
  • To oversee the implementation of the College’s Annual Monitoring process by (i) the receipt and consideration of Department’s Annual Monitoring Reports (AMRs) (ii) the preparation of an annual summary report on issues and emerging themes arising from the Committee’s consideration of the AMRs, for submission to the Quality Assurance and Enhancement Committee (QAEC).
  • To identify through the annual monitoring, periodic review and other quality assurance mechanisms, good practice and innovation in learning, teaching and assessment and promote its dissemination across the Faculty and elsewhere in the College.
  • To consider on an annual basis College summaries of external examiner reports.
  • To consider reports of Professional, Statutory and Regulatory Bodies on undergraduate and postgraduate taught provision.
  • To approve minor changes to existing programme curricula (including for existing collaborative provision) and short course provision in accordance with the College Academic Standards Framework and report these to the Programmes Committee.
  • To approve changes to entry requirements for existing programmes of study.
  • To approve and keep under review programme specifications for taught degree programmes and approve and keep under review course specifications for short course provision and inform QAEC.
  • To approve and keep under review marking schemes and schemes for award of honours and inform QAEC.
  • To appoint panels to consider special cases for admission and other circumstances.
  • To oversee all special cases.
  • To oversee the professional skills development programme for Master’s level students.
  • To approve, in collaboration with the Registry and International Office when appropriate, new exchange arrangements and the renewal of existing exchange agreements and report these to QAEC. 

Constitution and membership

  • A senior representative for educational leadership for the Faculty as Chair;
  • A College Consul;
  • A student representative;
  • Additional members to be determined by each Faculty

For meetings including consideration of quality and standards matters:

  • At least one representative from the Registry nominated by the Academic Registrar or Head of Academic Services;
  • A representative from the Education Development Unit;
  • Student representation including the ICU Deputy President Education and GSU President or Deputy President;
  • Additionally the Faculty of Medicine Education Committee should include representation from the LKC Medical School

    Membership (Academic year 2015/16)
    Professor Desmond Johnson Vice-Dean (Education) as Chair
    Mr Martin Lupton Associate Dean
    Dr Jane Saffell Associate Dean
    Dr Jo Harris Deputy Head of the Undergraduate School
    Dr Laki Buluwela Academic Lead for Postgraduate Research Programmes
    Dr Jeremy Levy Director of the Clinical Academic Training Office
    Professor Steve Gentleman Departmental Education Lead*
    Professor Alison McGregor Departmental Education Lead*
    Professor Sue Smith Departmental Education Lead*
    Professor Helen Ward Departmental Education Lead*
    Professor Myra McClure College Consul
    Professor Simon Taylor-Robinson College Consul
    Professor Terry Tetley College Consul
    Dr Naomi Low-Beer Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine Representative
    Miss Susan English Director of Education Management
    Mr Paul Ratcliffe Deputy Director of Education Management 
    Mr Chris Harris Head of Programme Management
    Mr Nigel Buck Faculty Operating Officer
    Mr Richard Viner Faculty Finance Officer
    Mr Richard Monk Registry Representative
    TBC Educational Development Unit Representative
    Mr Chun-Yin San ICU Deputy President Education
    Mr Liucheng Guo GSU President
    Ms Rebekah Fletcher Head of the School Secretariat (Secretary)
    *Departmental representatives are expected to send an alternate when they are unable to attend.
    Summary of the table's contents

Meeting dates and deadlines

Committee dates (Academic year 2017/18)Submission deadlines (Academic year 2017/18)
25 September 2017 11 September 2017
04 December 2017 20 November 2017
05 March 2018 19 February 2018
16 April 2018 02 April 2018
Summary of the table's contents
Committee dates (Academic year 2016/17)Submission deadlines (Academic year 2016/17)
08 December 2016 24 November 2016
13 March 2017 27 February 2017
24 April 2017 10 April 2017
Summary of the table's contents

 Agenda items (including papers) should be submitted to the committee secretary two weeks prior to the committee meeting. Papers will normally be circulated to members one week prior to the committee meeting. 



Academic year 2016/17
  • 08 December 2016
  • 13 March 2017
  • 24 April 2017
Academic year 2015/16

*Minutes to be approved at the next meeting.